Common Council

2024 Council
The Common Council is the legislative branch of government.  The Council's primary functions are to pass the laws (ordinances) of the city and to approve the budgets and spending of money collected by the city.

The Council consists of nine members - three are elected across the city (at large) and six are elected specific to certain areas of the city (districts).  Council meetings are open to the public and held on the Tuesdays that follow the second and fourth Monday of each month at 7 p.m. in the Council Chambers at City Hall, 16 S. 10th Street. Changes to regular meeting dates are advertised pursuant to Indiana Code 5-14-1.5-5. Meetings are also listed on the Events Calendar. In addition, Council members meet as four-person subcommittees to review the services and functions of our city and other issues.  

Common Council members are Mark Boice, Mike Davis, Evan Elliott, David Johnson, Darren Peterson, Pete Schwartz, Aaron Smith, Todd Thurston and Megan Wiles.
Click on an image below for more information about the Council members.  
Darren Peterson Megan Wiles Pete Schwartz

Darren Peterson

Megan Wiles 
District 6
Vice President

Pete Schwartz

Evan Elliott Mike Davis Todd Thurston
Evan Elliott

Mike Davis
District 1

Todd Thurston
District 2
Aaron Smith Mark Boice Dave Johnson
Aaron Smith
District 3
Mark Boice
District 4

David Johnson 
District 5