Board of Zoning Appeals (BZA)

The Board of Zoning Appeals (BZA) is a quasi-judicial body of five members that meets on the 1st Monday of every month at City Hall (Council Chambers) 16 South 10th Street, Noblesville, Indiana 46060. Three citizen members are appointed by the Mayor, one citizen member is appointed by the Common Council, and one member is appointed by the plan commission as the extra-territorial jurisdiction member. The Board is charged with the responsibility of hearing appeals, requests for variances to the land use zoning regulations of the city, and requests for conditional uses--all further explained in their Rules of Procedure. The Board conducts public hearings for citizen input in order to make their decisions.  Please refer to the Citizen Conduct Manual for more information relating to the hearings and their conduct.

For BZA information, please see the Related Pages section below or contact Caleb Gutshall, at 317-776-6325 or [email protected]Please refer to the Boards, Commissions, & Committees page for a map of current public notices and additional information regarding the Department's public hearings.

Current Board of Zoning Appeals Board Members

  • Mike Field, Chairperson (Mayor Appointment, Term Expires 12-31-2025)                                          
  • Dave Burtner, Vice Chairperson (Plan Commission Representative, Term Expires 12-31-2024)
  • Jim Hanlon (Council Appointment, Term Expires 12-31-2023)
  • Dan Mac Innis (Mayor Appointment, Term Expires 12-31-2025)
  • Lauren Wahl (Mayor Appointment, Term Expires 12-31-2025)
ARB Application
Applications & Fees
Meeting Dates and Deadlines
Meeting Dates & Deadlines
ARB Rules of Procedure
Rules of Procedure